Endovascular Today - Latest Issue http://evtoday.com/ The latest issue stories from Endovascular Today. en-us Fri, 24 Nov 2017 06:08:43 GMT Fri, 24 Nov 2017 06:08:43 GMT BMCToday TEVAR: Strategizing Success http://evtoday.com/2017/11/tevar-strategizing-success img class="left" src="http://evtoday.com/images/articles/2017-11/Loftus_Ian_New.png" style="max-width: 80px; margin-top:... Thu, 2 Nov 2017 04:00:00 GMT http://evtoday.com/2017/11/tevar-strategizing-success Classification of Aortic Pathologies http://evtoday.com/2017/11/classification-of-aortic-pathologies Physicians have known about diseases of the thoracic aorta for centuries. One of the earliest pathologic descriptions of a ruptured acute aortic dissection was by Frank Nicholls, who performed the autopsy of King George II of England. “In th... Thu, 2 Nov 2017 04:00:00 GMT http://evtoday.com/2017/11/classification-of-aortic-pathologies Preoperative Risk Assessment for Optimal TEVAR Outcomes http://evtoday.com/2017/11/preoperative-risk-assessment-for-optimal-tevar-outcomes Thoracic endovascular aortic repair (TEVAR) is intended to reduce the operative morbidity and mortality associated with both thoracic aneurysm disease and dissection as compared with open procedures (a class="screenshot" href="http://evtoday.com/... Thu, 2 Nov 2017 04:00:00 GMT http://evtoday.com/2017/11/preoperative-risk-assessment-for-optimal-tevar-outcomes Thoracic Aortic Aneurysms: At What Size Should We Intervene? http://evtoday.com/2017/11/thoracic-aortic-aneurysms-at-what-size-should-we-intervene Thoracic aortic aneurysm (TAA) is a potentially life-threatening disorder that without intervention carries a poor prognosis. Once diagnosed, the 3-year survival for large degenerative TAAs (> 60 mm in diameter) is approximately 20%.1/sup... Thu, 2 Nov 2017 04:00:00 GMT http://evtoday.com/2017/11/thoracic-aortic-aneurysms-at-what-size-should-we-intervene Ask the Experts: When and How Do You Survey a Small TAA? http://evtoday.com/2017/11/ask-the-experts-when-and-how-do-you-survey-a-small-taa Timur P. Sarac, MD Professor and Chief of Vascular Surgery C... Thu, 2 Nov 2017 04:00:00 GMT http://evtoday.com/2017/11/ask-the-experts-when-and-how-do-you-survey-a-small-taa Identifying the Appropriate Thoracic Device Size http://evtoday.com/2017/11/identifying-the-appropriate-thoracic-device-size Endovascular aortic stent grafts have forever altered the techniques and strategies for managing the pathology of the aorta. Although many cases still require open repair, large studies demonstrate that there has been a tremendous increase in the... Thu, 2 Nov 2017 04:00:00 GMT http://evtoday.com/2017/11/identifying-the-appropriate-thoracic-device-size The Aberrant Vertebral Artery With Aortic Arch Pathology http://evtoday.com/2017/11/the-aberrant-vertebral-artery-with-aortic-arch-pathology Aberrant origin of the vertebral artery (VA) is an uncommon anatomic variant that usually has no clinical significance, except when treating cerebrovascular or aortic arch pathology. When the VA origin is located in the intended area of replacemen... Thu, 2 Nov 2017 04:00:00 GMT http://evtoday.com/2017/11/the-aberrant-vertebral-artery-with-aortic-arch-pathology TEVAR and Reintervention: How to Manage Endoleaks and False Lumen Perfusion http://evtoday.com/2017/11/tevar-and-reintervention-how-to-manage-endoleaks-and-false-lumen-perfusion The first thoracic endovascular aortic repair (TEVAR) was performed by Dake et al in July 1992.1 Over the past 25 years, TEVAR has become the gold standard for treatment of the majority of thoracic aortic aneurysms (TAAs) and complicate... Thu, 2 Nov 2017 04:00:00 GMT http://evtoday.com/2017/11/tevar-and-reintervention-how-to-manage-endoleaks-and-false-lumen-perfusion Ask the Experts: What Is Your Protocol for Following Patients After TEVAR? http://evtoday.com/2017/11/ask-the-experts-what-is-your-protocol-for-following-patients-after-tevar Rajesh K. Malik, MD, FACS, RPVI Vascular Surgery, MedStar Wa... Thu, 2 Nov 2017 04:00:00 GMT http://evtoday.com/2017/11/ask-the-experts-what-is-your-protocol-for-following-patients-after-tevar Looking Forward: Predictions for Office-Based Labs http://evtoday.com/2017/11/looking-forward-predictions-for-office-based-labs The final article in a four-part series discussing office-based labs (OBLs) and ambulatory surgery centers (ASCs) from the perspective of three physicians. This article explores our participants’ opinions on recent trends... Thu, 2 Nov 2017 04:00:00 GMT http://evtoday.com/2017/11/looking-forward-predictions-for-office-based-labs An Interview With Stephen A. Black, MD, FRCS(Ed), FEBVS http://evtoday.com/2017/11/an-interview-with-stephen-a-black-md-frcsed-febvs With clinical trials underway, several devices available in Europe, and some devices presumably on... Thu, 2 Nov 2017 04:00:00 GMT http://evtoday.com/2017/11/an-interview-with-stephen-a-black-md-frcsed-febvs