SVS Elects 2018–2019 Leadership


July 12, 2018—The Society for Vascular Surgery (SVS) announced that the society's leaders for 2018–2019 were elected at the SVS Vascular Annual Meeting held June 20–23 in Boston, Massachusetts.

The 2018–2019 SVS leadership includes: Michel S. Makaroun, MD, (President); Kim J. Hodgson, MD, (President-Elect); Ronald L. Dalman, MD, (Vice President); and outgoing President R. Clement Darling, MD, (Chair of the SVS Foundation). The current Treasurer, Samuel R. Money, MD, and current Secretary, Ali AbuRahma, MD, will continue to serve in these positions.

According to the SVS announcement, Dr. Makaroun will focus his 1-year term on the impending shortage of vascular surgeons and the critical need to develop more training programs and fellowship opportunities.

In addition to being President-Elect for the past year, Dr. Makaroun is a distinguished fellow of the SVS and has been active in the society in a variety of roles since 1997, including his term as Secretary from 2013–2016. He is Professor and Chair of Vascular Surgery and of Clinical and Translational Science at the University of Pittsburgh and is Codirector of the UPMC Heart and Vascular Institute in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Dr. Hodgson has been Vice President for the past year. He has also been Treasurer of SVS and has served on several committees and the SVS Board of Directors. He is Chair of the Division of Vascular Surgery at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine in Springfield, Illinois, where he holds the David Sumner Endowed Chair in Vascular and Endovascular Surgery.

Dr. Dalman has served for 3 years as Program Chair of the Vascular Annual Meeting, on the SVS Board of Directors, and on numerous committees. Dr. Dalman is the Walter C. and Elsa R. Chidester Professor of Surgery and Chief of the Division of Vascular Surgery at Stanford University in Stanford, California.

As Chair of the charitable arm of the SVS, Dr. Darling will oversee the foundation’s competitive, peer-reviewed, grant-making initiatives, which are made possible by contributions from members, medical societies, and corporations. Dr. Darling is President of The Vascular Group in Albany, New York; Director of The Institute for Vascular Health and Disease; Chief of the Division of Vascular Surgery at Albany Medical Center Hospital; and Professor of Surgery at Albany Medical College.


Contact Info

For advertising rates and opportunities, contact:
Craig McChesney

Stephen Hoerst

Charles Philip

About Endovascular Today

Endovascular Today is a publication dedicated to bringing you comprehensive coverage of all the latest technology, techniques, and developments in the endovascular field. Our Editorial Advisory Board is composed of the top endovascular specialists, including interventional cardiologists, interventional radiologists, vascular surgeons, neurologists, and vascular medicine practitioners, and our publication is read by an audience of more than 22,000 members of the endovascular community.