Endologix Honors Innovators of Aortic Therapy at VEITHsymposium


November 15, 2018—Endologix announced that four innovators of aortic therapy were honored at the 45th annual VEITHsymposium held November 13–17 in New York, New York during the company's event, “Learning from the Past to Shape the Future: Evolution of Aortic Therapy.” Endologix recognized the surgeons who advanced aortic repair therapy and initiated early randomized controlled trials of endovascular aneurysm repair (EVAR).

The distinguished honorees included:

  • Jean-Pierre Becquemin, MD, Study Chair of the ACE trial
  • Jan Blankensteijn, MD, Principal Investigator of the DREAM trial
  • Roger Greenhalgh, MD, Chief Investigator of the EVAR 1 trial
  • Frank Veith, MD, leader of the team that performed the first EVAR procedure in the United States in 1992, setting the course for clinical studies and therapeutic advances that would define the EVAR category

Other physicians acknowledged for their substantial contributions included Ted Diethrich, MD; Roy Greenberg, MD; Frank Lederle, MD; Michael Marin, MD; Juan Parodi, MD; and Nikolai Volodos, MD.

In the company's announcement, Matt Thompson, MD, Chief Medical Officer of Endologix, stated, “Randomized controlled trials are the gold standard for evaluating any therapy, and several of our honorees led studies that helped set the standard for the entire EVAR category. These innovators revolutionized the treatment of abdominal aortic aneurysms, and we are proud to recognize the work they are doing to advance the field of vascular surgery. To advance the standard of care, we believe future products must be evaluated for superior outcomes as compared to conventional EVAR grafts.”


Contact Info

For advertising rates and opportunities, contact:
Craig McChesney

Stephen Hoerst

Charles Philip

About Endovascular Today

Endovascular Today is a publication dedicated to bringing you comprehensive coverage of all the latest technology, techniques, and developments in the endovascular field. Our Editorial Advisory Board is composed of the top endovascular specialists, including interventional cardiologists, interventional radiologists, vascular surgeons, neurologists, and vascular medicine practitioners, and our publication is read by an audience of more than 22,000 members of the endovascular community.