August 11, 2020

Society for Vascular Surgery Announces Officers for 2020-2021

August 11, 2020—The Society for Vascular Surgery (SVS) announced its 2020-2021 officers, including two elected via virtual voting for the first time in the organization’s history. Members were able to select from a choice of candidates, with 482 (15.6%) eligible members casting votes for vice president and treasurer.

Ronald Dalman, MD, ascended to SVS president, succeeding Kim Hodgson, MD. Dr. Dalman is the Walter C. and Elsa R. Chidester Professor and Chief of Vascular Surgery at Stanford University in Stanford, California.

Ali AbuRahma, MD, is the president-elect. Dr. AbuRahma is Professor of Surgery, Chief of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery and Director of the Vascular Surgery Fellowship and integrated residency programs at West Virginia University, Charleston, and serves as the Medical Director of the vascular laboratory and Co-Director of the Vascular Center of Excellence at Charleston Area Medical Center in Charleston, West Virginia.

Michael C. Dalsing, MD, was elected vice president, succeeding Dr. AbuRahma. Dr. Dalsing, MD, started the Division of Vascular Surgery at the Indiana University School of Medicine, where he was director until 2017, and is currently a staff vascular surgeon with IU Health Physicians and Professor Emeritus of Surgery within the Division of Vascular Surgery in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Keith Calligaro, MD, was elected treasurer, succeeding Samuel Money, MD. Dr. Calligaro is Chief of the Section of Vascular Surgery and director of the Vascular Surgery Fellowship at Pennsylvania Hospital and clinical professor of surgery at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.


August 12, 2020

Wallaby Medical Raises Funds to Accelerate Device Development for Stroke Treatment

August 10, 2020

Veryan Medical to Commercialize Vasorum’s Celt Arterial Closure Device in the United States